• Sat. Apr 20th, 2024

IND vs IRE: India beat Ireland by 2 runs (DLS) in rain-affected first T20I.

India won the first T20I against Ireland by two runs (DLS) in a rain-affected match at Malahide on Sunday.

India, who won the toss and elected to bat, were restricted to 139 for seven in 20 overs. Jasprit Bumrah (2/24) and Prasidh Krishna (2/32) were the pick of the bowlers for India.

Ireland were in a spot of bother at 59 for 6 in the 11th over, but Barry McCarthy (51 not out off 33 balls) and Curtis Campher (39 off 33 balls) put on a 57-run partnership for the seventh wicket to take the score to 139.

The rain came in the seventh over of Ireland’s chase and play was eventually called off with 3.2 overs remaining.

IND vs IRE: Bumrah stars on return:

Jasprit Bumrah made a brilliant return to international cricket, taking two wickets in his first over to put Ireland on the back foot.

Bumrah bowled a perfect yorker to trap Andy Balbirnie lbw for 1, and then got Paul Stirling caught behind for 11. The Indian paceman also dismissed Lorcan Tucker and Harry Tector as Ireland slumped to 59 for 6 in the 11th over.

Also Read: Robert Quinn: NFL Free Agent Arrested on Hit-and-Run, Assault Charges.

IND vs IRE: McCarthy’s late cameo

Barry McCarthy played a brilliant cameo to give Ireland a fighting chance. The all-rounder hit two fours and four sixes in his 33-ball knock, and shared a 57-run partnership with Curtis Campher for the seventh wicket.

McCarthy’s knock helped Ireland reach 139 for 7, but it was not enough to prevent India from winning.

IND vs IRE: India take 1-0 lead

India’s win gave them a 1-0 lead in the three-match series. The second T20I will be played on Tuesday at the same venue.

Key performers

  • Jasprit Bumrah (India): 2/24
  • Barry McCarthy (Ireland): 51 not out off 33 balls
  • Curtis Campher (Ireland): 39 off 33 balls

What next?

The second T20I between India and Ireland will be played on Tuesday at Malahide. The match will start at 9:00 PM IST

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *